City of Smyrna presents

The Red Carpet

Mayor's Education Awards Dinner & Ceremony

Smyrna Community Center

4 | 20 | 2023



The Red Carpet Mayor's Education Awards Dinner & Ceremony

Smyrna Community Center

4 | 20 | 2023

Program

Welcome & Introductions Mark Owens

16 year In-Game Host for the Atlanta Braves and Smyrna Native

Invocation / Pledge of Allegiance Rev. Brian Sullivan

St. Benedict's Episcopal School

Opening Remarks Mayor Derek Norton

Presentation of Special Recognition Awards

Presentation of Outstanding Student Awards

Closing Remarks



The Mayor's Education Awards began in 2006, and Mayor Derek Norton is proud to carry on the tradition of honoring outstanding students and educators for academic excellence and citizenship.

"It is our pleasure to honor this year's recipients at The Red Carpet Mayor's Education Awards Dinner & Ceremony! It is so important to give special recognition to our students and educators in Smyrna. I hope this evening will be a truly memorable experience for everyone.

A huge congratulations to our well-deserving 2022-2023 honorees!"

-Mayor Derek Norton

ARGYLE ELEMENTARY

Georgette Clinton, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Mason Chapman Tyren Gordon Divania Medina

BELMONT HILLS ELEMENTARY

Dr. Ashley Campoli, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Yandel Martinez
Bryttany Vences-Gomez
Tony Vences-Gomez

CAMPBELL HIGH SCHOOL

Dr. Vanessa Watkins, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Komang Ardani Peyton Bedgood Rogelio Romero

CAMPBELL MIDDLE SCHOOL

Dr. Camille Havis, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Finn McQuade Zoe Stemphil Saisruthi Vijaykarthikk

Teacher of the	Year Nomi	nee			 		Brittani Clarl	<
Business Partr	er of the Y	ear Nom	inee.		 		Zaxby'	5

GREEN ACRES ELEMENTARY

Ashley Mize, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Christopher Figueroa-Herrera Laura-Marie Mantilla Leena McDowell

Sonya Henry						ninee.	ear Non	of the Y	Teach
Braves Foundation	a Br	lanta	Atl	nee	lomir	Year N	of the	s Partnei	Busine

GRIFFIN MIDDLE SCHOOL

Dr. Loralee Hill, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Alyssa Hall Maya Howard Thomas Kelly

Nominee Raven Wildermuth-Akali	Teacher of the Year No
ar Nominee Dana Hoffman	Volunteer of the Year I
the Year Nominee Zaxby's	Business Partner of th

INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY OF SMYRNA

Ashley Haney, Head of School

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Camille Days
Luis Del Angel Hernandez
Bradley Louison

Teacher of the Year Nominee Brandi Dixon
Volunteer of the Year Nominee Alma Lopez
Business Partner of the Year Nominee . Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.,
Cobb Alumni Chapter

KING SPRINGS ELEMENTARY

Dr. Cindy Szwec, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Kendall Abney Charlotte Caylor Riley McCain

Teacher of the Year Nominee
Volunteer of the Year Nominee Sheena Stransky
Business Partner of the Year Nominee Restore Hyper Wellness

NICKAJACK ELEMENTARY

Dr. Timeka L. Cline, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Kennedy Godbolt Elijah Gordon Layla Oppong

Teacher of the Year Nominee				. Amanda Schmidt
Volunteer of the Year Nominee				Shaun Black
Business Partner of the Year Nominee.				Fast Signs

NORTON PARK ELEMENTARY

Kendall Foster, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Edwin Cruz Flores Crue Furlong Heba Lodin

. Jennifer Chandler			 		ar Nominee.	Teacher of the Yea
Maggie Grosse			 		/ear Nominee	Volunteer of the Y
vrna Public Library	Sm		 ee.	min	of the Year No	Business Partner of

RUSSELL ELEMENTARY

Tammy Watson, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Ivanna Alvarez-Salgado Amara Nkumeh Avery Parrish

Tiffany Draper	 inee	Teacher of the Year Nomin
Cindy Stigall	 minee	Volunteer of the Year Nom
Bethany United Methodist	ear Nominee.	Business Partner of the Ye

SMYRNA ELEMENTARY

Sharon Arduino, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Scarlett Ortiz GianLuigi Rincon Emma Simms

Kate Osborne							inee	'ear Nomir	f the Ye	cher o	Teac	
. Kamma Manion							minee	Year Non	of the	unteer	Volu	
FruiTea Bubbles				2	in	٦m	ear No	r of the Ye	Partner	iness l	Busin	

ST. BENEDICT'S EPISCOPAL SCHOOL

Rev. Brian Sullivan, Head of School

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Divena Bhatia Camryn Dean Alexa Ganeriwal

elissa Crimminger	Me						Year Nominee.	Teacher of the Ye	
Devyn Baklini						е	e Year Nomine	Volunteer of the	
t Kennesaw State	EACH at	EΑ	iT!	ee.	nin	lon	er of the Year N	Business Partner	

TEASLEY ELEMENTARY

Leslie Mansfield, Principal

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Jai Gala Tony Menefee Kate Padron

Teacher of the Year Nominee Deborah Olive	:r
Volunteer of the Year Nominee Monica Langle	у
Business Partner of the Year Nominee Passion City Churc	h

WHITEFIELD ACADEMY

Dr. Kevin Bracher, Head of School

Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Sarah Berry Lucy Blee Erynn Greenwood

Rebecca Brown							ninee	ear Nom	of the Ye	Teacher	
Nakeya Bazemore							minee	Year No	er of the	Volunte	
PT Solutions				e.	ine	om	Year No	of the `	s Partner	Busines	



Special Recognition Award Honorees

Teacher of the Year

Sonya HenryGreen Acres Elementary

Volunteer of the Year

Dana HoffmanGriffin Middle School

Business Partner of the Year

Passion City Church Teasley Elementary

WITH OUR GREATEST APPRECIATION











Mark Owens

Mark Owens is a proud Smyrna native, with family roots extending back almost 100 years. He is a 20-year Atlanta Radio veteran with stops at The Bert Show on Q100, 99X, 929 The Game and co-host of Jenn and Friends on Star 94.1. Mark served as the Atlanta Braves in-game host for 16 seasons, including the Braves historic World Series Championship run in 2021. Currently Mark works in the Radio/TV division at Impact Partnership hosting radio shows across the country. He lives in Bennett Woods with his wife Gretchen and daughter Caroline who attends King Springs Elementary. On the weekends, you can find Mark leaving divots at Fox Creek, calling the Dawgs in Athens, or sitting in the back pew at Smyrna First United Methodist Church.

Mayor & Council

Derek Norton Mayor

Glenn Pickens Ward I

Latonia P. Hines

Travis Lindley
Ward 3

Charles "Corkey" Welch Ward 4

> Susan Wilkinson* Ward 5

Tim Gould*
Mayor Pro Tem / Ward 6

Lewis Wheaton*
Ward 7

*Education Committee