City of Smyrna presents The Red Carpet Mayor's Education Awards

Mayor's Education Awards Dinner & Ceremony Smyrna Community Center

4 | 18 | 2024





"As Mayor, I am proud to champion the Mayor's Education Awards, celebrating the dedication and achievements of our exceptional students. These awards not only recognize academic excellence but also highlight the importance of perseverance and leadership. Through these awards, we applaud their commitment to learning and their positive impact on their schools, our community, and beyond. Join me in congratulating the recipients of the 2023-2024 Mayor's Education Awards as we inspire and encourage the next generation of leaders and scholars." - [Mayor Derek Norton]



# Program

Welcome & Introductions Mark Owens 16 year In-Game Host for the Atlanta Braves and Smyrna Native

Invocation / Pledge of Allegiance Rev. Brian Sullivan St. Benedict's Episcopal School

> **Opening Remarks** Mayor Derek Norton

## Presentation of Outstanding Student Awards

**Closing Remarks** 

### **ARGYLE ELEMENTARY**

Georgette Clinton, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Mama Cham Ka'Cence Gregory Maverick Hibbert

**BELMONT HILLS ELEMENTARY** 

Dr. Ashley Campoli, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Rachel Dominguez Gonzalez Joshua Mendez Paniagua Ahtziri Ramirez

CAMPBELL HIGH SCHOOL

Dr. Vanessa Watkins, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Abass Diallo Ahide Espino Claire Obermayer

### CAMPBELL MIDDLE SCHOOL

Dr. Camille Havis, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Zainab Arowojobe Royal Randolph IV Evynn Watson

### **COVENANT CHRISTIAN SCHOOL**

Phenette Pugh, Head of School

**Outstanding Student Award Recipients** 

Natalie Gamez Jasmine Valcin Dannyelle Wade

**GREEN ACRES ELEMENTARY** 

Maria Braswell, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Yohanna Leul Ezequiel Rangel Natalie Rodriguez Zuniga

**GRIFFIN MIDDLE SCHOOL** 

Dr. Loralee Hill, Principal

#### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Carlos Guidos Nina Howard Devin Potts

### INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY OF SMYRNA

Ashley Tompkins, Head of School

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Ryan Robinson Caitlyn Smith Lucas Wong

# KING SPRINGS ELEMENTARY

Ashley Mize, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Emma Barbieri Victoria Vicenzi Cameron Wilhoit

NICKAJACK ELEMENTARY

Dr. Timeka L. Cline, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Josh Oboh David Sayler Amy Schmidt

NORTON PARK ELEMENTARY

Kendall Foster, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Kevin Lazcano Ezra Lee Aysel Olguin Mendoza

### **RUSSELL ELEMENTARY**

Tammy Watson, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Melanie Abarca-Torres Osvaldo Cortez Lillie Nelson

### **SMYRNA ELEMENTARY**

Sharon Arduino, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Hudson McLean Norah Nasca Sidney Singleton

ST. BENEDICT'S EPISCOPAL SCHOOL

Rev. Brian Sullivan, Head of School

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Ella Benden Grant Trammell Cal Turner

TEASLEY ELEMENTARY Leslie Mansfield, Principal

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Hayden Conrad Seth Maliro Aziery Miller

WHITEFIELD ACADEMY

Dr. Kevin Bracher, Head of School

### **Outstanding Student Award Recipients**

Lucy Grisette Greer McKeeby Christian Wiggins

# Mayor & Council

Derek Norton Mayor

Glenn Pickens <sup>Ward I</sup>

Latonia P. Hines Ward 2

Travis Lindley Ward 3

Charles "Corkey" Welch Ward 4

> Susan Wilkinson\* <sub>Ward 5</sub>

Tim Gould\* Mayor Pro Tem / Ward 6

Rickey N. Oglesby, Jr.\* <sup>Ward 7</sup>

\*Education Committee